Welcome to the Faculty of English and Literacy at Longfield!

We recognise English as a vital way of enabling you to communicate in your school life, working life and globally through new communication technologies.

Literature in English reflects the experience of people from many cultures and times. In studying English you will develop skills in speaking and listening, reading and writing that will help you to express yourselves creatively and imaginatively and to communicate with others effectively.

You will read stories, poetry and drama as well as non-fiction and media texts such as magazines and films. You will also be given the opportunity to create your own texts and communicate in different situations and environments. In English at Longfield you’ll learn how to become independent thinkers and confident communicators.

KS3 Specifications and Assessments

Click here to download KS3 Curriculum Information
Schemes of Learning at KS3
In KS3, pupils will study a range of texts: Literary fiction and non-fiction from the 19th Century onwards, Poetry, Modern Drama and Shakespeare. Throughout Key Stage 3, summative assessments of reading and writing take place half termly. In addition, key pieces are used for formative assessment on an on going basis.

All AQA GCSE Language and Literature skills are mapped throughout Key Stage 3 and the range of assessments used mirror those at Key Stage 4 to fully prepare pupils for their GCSE studies.

Assessment at KS3
In English at Longfield, pupils in KS3 are assessed using a Progress Points system where skills are paramount and pupils are building on their skills across a range of texts, themes and topics.

Pupils are assessed in both Reading and Writing at the end of every half term and all skills across the two disciplines are assessed each time. Pupils receive personalised feedback on their strengths and weaknesses and time is built into each scheme to allow pupils to work on these areas using their feedback.

All assessment is in line with the AQA criteria for the new GCSE 1-9 system and pupils so that pupils are prepared for their studies in KS4 and have the ability to achieve their potential.

If you have any questions about the new style of assessment, please do not hesitate to contact your child’s class teacher or our KS3 leader, Miss S Wilson swilson@longfield.uk.com
 

KS4 Specifications and Assessments

In Key Stage 4, a combined Language and Literature AQA course is taught. Language and Literature content are interleaved across the two year course to maximise pupils’ consolidation, development and useful revision of skills. All Literature and all Language content will have been completed by the end of Y11 term 1.2. The programme is designed to deepen learning of both Language and Literature, building pupil resilience and attainment through: exam strategy, practice, revision skills and metacognition. All skills are interleaved through the remainder of Y11. Spelling and punctuation are assessed throughout using a range of strategies – eg, ongoing use of spelling tests and vocabulary lists.

For any information on the KS4 specifications or schemes of learning, please contact Mr T Graham, KS4 Leader tgraham@longfield.uk.com

For further details regarding the English Language and English Literature specifications, please visit the AQA website using the following links:

www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-language-8700
www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/english/gcse/english-literature-8702

Meet The English & Literacy Staff

 Staff Name Job Title Contact details
Mrs S Davidson Deputy Headteacher sdavidson@longfield.uk.com
Miss V Foster Teacher of English vfoster@longfield.uk.com
Mr M Fretter Teacher of English mfretter@longfield.uk.com
Mrs A Gooch Teacher of English agooch@longfield.uk.com
Mr T Graham Assistant Faculty Leader – English and Literacy – KS4 tgraham@longfield.uk.com
Mrs L Laver Faculty Leader – English and Literacy llaver@longfield.uk.com
Mrs K Martin Librarian kmartin@longfield.uk.com
Miss A Metcalfe HLTA -English Progress Leader ametcalfe@longfield.uk.com
Mrs L Mower Teacher of English and Teaching Coach/NQT Tutor lmower@longfield.uk.com
Mrs N Page Teacher of English npage@longfield.uk.com
Miss S Wilson Assistant Faculty Leader – English and Literacy – KS3 swilson@longfield.uk.com